Half Birthday

It’s a double post Friday! Whoop whoop. I know you just couldn’t do without, I mean, we are a pretty awesome family …+ because maybe most-likely probably actually I’ve been a bad blogger, but let’s not dwell on that! It’s a new day…
Yesterday marked the half-birthday for our little B + even thought it is her unbirthday half birthday, what is a birthday without a little cake. I really would have liked to make it a tea party like in Alice in Wonderland, but Bella is not to the age yet where she likes {hot} tea; however, I guess I could have just used sweet tea. I mean, it is the nectar of life. I’ve wanted to do this for a couple of years now but have always either forgotten or we were too busy with school. So, to celebrate her half-birthday we ate Chick fil a for dinner, watched Alice in Wonderland, + ate a four layer “half” cake. Mmm.

IMG_0863

We frosted the cake before we got dinner + I let Bella lick the spoon. I didn’t notice until our way back home that she had it completely around her mouth

IMG_0866

IMG_0864

IMG_0865

Eating anything is not complete without a pug nearby

Although it was a very small celebration it was still quite fun. It’s nice to remember that there are little milestones to celebrate such as this. She won’t be a kid for long so I’ll enjoy it while I can. The house needed cleaning, there were dishes to be done, laundry to be folded, but giving her something fun + spending time with her eating sweets on the couch is more important. Let’s be honest, cake makes everything better. Even Marie Antoinette knew it was important.

“let them eat cake”
– Marie Antoinette

~ ashley 

Leave a comment